Tuesday, September 11, 2007

Leonard Cohen "Songs From A Room" (1969 original, 2007 remastered)

Songs From A Room
2007 Remastered (1969 Original)

Canadian CD catalogue number: Columbia/Legacy 88697 04740 2
Originally issued in 1969, as Columbia 9767

Recording sessions for Leonard Cohen's second LP were begun May 1968 in Hollywood with David Crosby producing. The recently departed member of the Byrds had won acclaim with his first assignment as a producer, Joni Mitchell's debut album, Song to a Seagull (released March 1968). Cohen's album wound up being recorded in Nashville with Columbia A&R staff producer Bob Johnston, known for his work with Bob Dylan, Johnny Cash, and Simon & Garfunkel. Two tracks from the Crosby sessions now make their debut: "Like a Bird," which is an earlier version of "Bird on the Wire"; and "Nothing to One," which is an earlier version of "You Know Who I Am."


1. Bird On The Wire
2. Story Of Isaac
3. A Bunch Of Lonesome Heros
4. The Partisan
5. Seems So Long Ago, Nancy
6. The Old Revolution
7. The Butcher
8. You Know Who I Am
9. Lady Midnight
10. Tonight Will Be Fine
11. Like A Bird (earlier version of Bird On The Wire) *Previously Unreleased BONUS TRACK*
12. Nothing to One (earlier version of You Know Who I Am) *Previously Unreleased BONUS TRACK*



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home