Wednesday, June 27, 2007

Mute: Audio Documents 1978-1984 (10xCD)

128 tracks over 10 CDs, Mute Audio Documents [iTunes] is a unique insight into the musical development of the label and its artists, highlighting the influence, the success and, most importantly, the great music produced since its inception in 1978. Mute Audio Documents is a collection of Mute's single releases from 1978 to 1984 and includes the first 4 double CD volumes of an ongoing series plus a 2CD rarities album exclusive to the box set. The series will feature all the A-side and B-side single tracks released by Mute in addition to album tracks by the artists for whom there were only album releases.

Mute emerged in the post-punk era. It was a new era of pop democracy, and anyone could make a record. You didn't even need to know three chords, according to Mute founder Daniel Miller. All you needed, he said, was an idea.

His 'idea' was to create a classic of DIY pop - a double A sided 7" single featuring the songs T.V.O.D. and Warm Leatherette. He called himself The Normal, designed a sleeve with Letraset, stuck the name Mute on it, and accidentally started a record label.

You only have to listen to the music gathered on these 10 CDs to see how Mute became the blueprint for maverick independence and sonic adventurousness - a blueprint that countless labels follow to this day.

The documentary evidence is here. All you have to do is listen.

Volume 1 1978 - 1981
Featuring: The Normal, Fad Gadget, Silicon Teens, D.A.F., Non, Robert Rental, Depeche Mode, Boyd Rice and Smegma.

Volume 2 1982
Featuring: Non, Depeche Mode, Fad Gadget, Die Doraus Und Die Marinas, Yazoo and Liaisons Dangereuses.

Volume 3 1983
Featuring: Depeche Mode, Duet Emmo, Robert Görl, Yazoo, Fad Gadget, The Assembly and The Birthday Party.

Volume 4 1984
Featuring: Einstürzende Neubauten, Fad Gadget, Robert Görl, Depeche Mode, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, I Start Counting, Bruce Gilbert, Boyd Rice and Frank Tovey.

Daniel Miller has, for nigh on 30 years, been at the helm of a unique and groundbreaking label, which has gained a reputation as one of the most consistently successful, adventurous and challenging labels in the world. With offices in London, Berlin and New York and a roster that includes renowned international artists such as Depeche Mode, Moby, Erasure, Goldfrapp, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds and Richard Hawley, Mute Audio Documents unashamedly celebrates the label with a remarkable box set detailing both the known as well as the not-so-well-known tracks (some of which are available here for the first time on CD) and the promise of more volumes in the near future.

Mute Audio Documents includes exclusive sleeve notes by Chris Bohn, Stephen Dalton, Ian Johnston and Dave Henderson, original artwork and exclusive original poster for The Normal.



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home